Main Index   Search   Register   Login   Who's Online   FAQ   Links
  1 Online, 0 Active   You are not logged in  
Main Index     The HIVE light edition (TM)
This is a historical archive
The forum is read-only. Private information has been removed. It is not possible to login.

Newbee Forum  

All 12 posts   Subject: DXM Extraction Q's   Please login to post   Down

PharmBoy
(Stranger)
10-28-04 01:57
No 538227
      DXM Extraction Q's     

Hi Fellow Bees,

Disclaimer: I'm a total newb at this stuff

I extracted DXM from cough syrup using an A/B extraction. I got a yield of 62% (I think) and want to refine my process.

I started out with cough syrup containing dxm hbr, and basified using ammonia (1:1 liquid amount of syrup/ammonia), extracted using naptha. I then washed the naptha a couple times with warm water, then bubbled hcl through it and filtered and washed the preciptated dxm hcl.

Q1: Basifying - Using 1:1 ammonia makes for a lot of fluid. How can I tell how much I really need? Should I use sodium hydroxide instead?

Q2: I used the beer bottle bubbler w/sulfuric acid drain cleaner and hardware store hcl. I didn't have any way to dry the gas. Does it really matter that much? would I not see any water 'bubbles' in the np if the hcl gas introduced moisture?

Q3: Is it possible to over gas the np? I gas it until I see hcl gas coming out of the np.

I didn't cool/re-gas the np after the extraction, I'll try that next time.

Q4: Is there the same amount of dxm in an equivalent weight of dxm hbr and dxm hcl?

Thanks and sorry for my first post being a plea for help wink

Little_fat_boy
(Stranger)
10-31-04 08:11
No 538880
      thats cool     

i dont know ,sorry, trying to make agent lemon? maybee rhodium.ws has some more information, i was getting ready to do the dxm extraction, by a step by step procedure, i may have found on rhodium, maybee not, sorry i am no help, good luck ,may your expierment bee sucessfull!!

i love the dxm trips!

MakoEyes
(Stranger)